My Happy Places

Screenshot (38)

“Cities were always like people, showing their varying personalities to the traveler. Depending on the city and on the traveler, there might begin a mutual love, or dislike, friendship, or enmity. Where one city will rise a certain individual to glory, it will destroy another who is not suited to its personality. Only through travel can we know where we belong or not, where we are loved and where we are rejected.”
Roman Payne, Cities & Countries

We all manage to form different images in our head every time we think of our capital city- Delhi. I just love calling it ‘home’.

Delhi never disappoints me with its combination of something new and something old. As I believe that every city holds its own appeal so does my Delhi. Be it the street food, street shopping or winters!

There is a possibility that my city experience may differ from yours, but not the happiness quotient associated with it. I have always been this typical city girl who love to visit few places that just fuel my soul. These are places that make me believe in my city, brought me closer to it every time I go there.

I wish everyone can see and experience Delhi the way I do, not just the city with high crime rates or unsafe events for girls but the soul of my city.

 

Here is my happy place list: 

Bangla Saheb Gurudwara
Screenshot (58)

I m not a believer in particular but an admirer of the serenity of a place.

I simply can’t express the feeling of walking and siting around the ‘Sarovar’ during the evening time. It imparts some sort of positive energy  which surely makes this place magical.

 

Gole Market ke Gol Gappe 
Screenshot (50)

We all have different favorites when it comes to ‘Delhi chaat’. Mine is of-course from a small stall at Gole Market. I have been eating out from there since i was a kid and i can still just think about it once and shoot up my cravings. Though, I have been going there for years but have always been too lost in the taste to even ask the guy’s name. It’s a small stall between Bangla Sweet House and Apollo Pharmacy.

Those mouth watering spicy Gol gappas are to kill for !

 

Shakuntalam Theatre at Pragati Maidan – Sadly closed now

Screenshot (51)

This good old theatre at Pragati Maidan was always there as a savior when I had the urge to watch a movie during my broke times. It used to be a single screen theatre with dull ambiance, but the Rs. 50 ticket justified it all.  That is what i call pocket friendly fun.

It was really a heartbreak to know that Screening of films at the Shakuntalam Theatre at the sprawling Pragati Maidan complex got discontinued.

 

Indian Coffee House

Screenshot (46)

Speaking of ‘Pocket Friendly’, I remember this café at the terrace of Mohan Singh Palace, C.P-Indian Coffee House.

From young to old all hails the charm of this place. It is really a place to kill time without spending a great deal of money. My experience here reminds me of continuous chatting with friends for endless hours. I won’t pronounce that the food is unexceptional, but affordable and the open terrace seating is something you can really enjoy. The Café allows you to have your personal space without much disturbance. What else do we need after a busy city day?

 

Food van at Mandi House

ND-METROLIFE-CHINESEVANS

Just at the beginning of the road heading towards Bengali Market C.P, there is this Chinese van serving decent and affordable food with huge quantity, enough to fill the biggest of the bellies. My favorite part about this place is the seating arrangement that they have managed so far. They have these small mats stretched on the footpath to give you a comfy eatery experience. It’s the  quietest and ‘no rush’ to eat makes it even better for me. 🙂

 

Shopping at Sarojini Nagar Market

Screenshot (59)

It needs real strength (physical and mental) and determination to shop from Sarojini Nagar Market.

Struggling to get that one bit of fabric that fits and makes us look different from others, accompanied by the pointless argument with his vendor and even so the spirit of being victorious always makes this shopping experience extraordinary.

If person desires to judge a girl’s potential to bargain, they should catch the way she shops at SN.

So, we can agree. I love Sarojini Nagar. You love Sarojini Nagar. We all love Sarojini Nagar!

 

Ice-cream at India Gate

Screenshot (49)

Though, I find it foolish to go to India Gate at nights (especially during winters) but, always have been happily a part of this foolishness. There is nothing exceptional about the ice-creams being sold here, but it has always been this ice-cream spot to simply move and have some good time with family. And After all, Ice-cream always makes a bitter day better.

 

Hauz Khas Ruins

Screenshot (60).png

Every time I wanted to have some ‘Me time’ and needed a beautiful place worth admiring, I hopped on this place.

At the end of the busy lane of Hauz Khas Village (which is now filled with cafes at every inch) we find this quiet place away from the city noise. With the beautiful lake and little quietness, it comes free of cost.

You can just go there, sit and breathe in peace.

 

No matter how many cities i go, how many different places i visit there is no place like home and Delhi is home.Though I am not an expert on the city, but this could be our little journey of discovering it together.
#mydeardelhi    #OURdeardelhi

 

-Ruchika Sharma

 

 

Picture courtesy-flickr.com

25 thoughts on “My Happy Places

  1. Beautifully put, as someone who is born and brought up in this city, I find this article very close to my heart and most places mentioned here are my happy places too. Well done 😊

    Like

  2. This is something which is written so kindly abt Delhi in a positive way to remind us why it is the capital of india..I loved it 👍 # capital of happiness

    Like

  3. Thanks to this post, I now have a few extra places added to my list. Looking forward to visit them and more of your writing as well 🙂

    Like

  4. As I read through I can so very well remember the spark in your eyes and happiness in your voice when we discussed the mentioned places.. You have repainted Delhi in a way that a lot of us couldn’t ..

    Like

  5. An emotional side of yours is seen in connection to this city, as you have described the places so well that I feel like going to all these places again. It makes us recall more about our city..loved it

    Like

  6. I’ve been to all these places many times but it was long back, still can very well associate myself with all the places n with d thinking of the person who has written it.
    Loved the way he/she has written it and expressed himself/herself.
    I haven’t been to these places from quite sometime but liked going to these places.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Beautifully put together…showing a serene side of Delhi which is vanishing in the amidst of chaos.
    It has added some places rather ‘experiences’ to my bucket..
    Looking forward to more of such writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I have not been to all the places you have mentioned but these places are described so beautifully in ur article that now i would luv to visit each one of them..😊
    Loved the way you portrayed the positive side of the city..👍🏻

    Like

Leave a comment